kaiw

Kai Watts

Starting from a young age of 6 I’ve always loved going fast on my bike especially on the hills and with type 1 diabetes I’ve shown that you can do anything no matter what condition or illness you have and I’ve raced and ridden in some fantastic places such as the grim Belgium Kermesse and the beautiful roads of Atlanta Georgia in America

10 questions

What sport would you do if you were not a cyclist?
Probably running or swimming but I would never do a triathlon

Who in the cycling world would you like to go for a ride with?
Nario Quintana his riding still is similar to mine and I would love to have a crack with him on a nice long hill
  
Which other sport do you mostly follow and which club or athlete do you support?
running and the ingebrigrigtsen brothers are astonishing

What city would you most like to live in?
Probably the nice and hot city of Alicante some beautiful hills round there

How do you relax after a hard day?
Probably watching some Netflix

What music do you put on when you want to get pumped?
Some rap music but of loski before I race would get me in the “zone”

What’s your favourite TV show?
Has to be the good old A team

What is one or two of your favourite smells?
Hmm probably my dads stews when coming back from a ride

Which of your scars has the best story behind it?
Probably one on my leg back when I was 12/13 racing in the regional track omnium at herne hill it was the last race of the day (points) and I went in to the race placing quite high on the standings and I can only remember having to back pedal to avoid a crash and doing a sort of flip off the bike

What food do you love that a lot of people might find a little unfamiliar?
A Caribbean traditional dish of Ackee and saltfish which on a hot day would be served with some fried plantain and always lifts your mood